Bob McClure – School Days

I was still living with my grandparents at age 5 and stayed there until I was 6 years old, then moved to Flat Rock, Michigan with my parents. I went to a small one-room school for 1st and 2nd grade. We had a wood potbelly stove and an outhouse in the back of the school.There were eight rows of grades 1-8. I had memories of very cold walks to school and home after school, lots of snow. Even at a young age I remember meeting a real major league baseball player, he played for the Cincinnati Reds, he was our teachers brother.

My mom and dad decided to send me to a catholic school after seeing what the school was like. I went to St Mary’s for 3 through 8 grades. Fifth grade was not good for me because I stayed there for 2 years. Sister Kiren always had a new seat for me, around all girls, in front of her desk or in the back corner of the room. Oh, yes there were a lot of broken rulers those two years. My best friend and his wife, from Michigan, were just here for a visit and we did a lot of talking about our years in school. We all remembered seeing the tack on the nun’s chair, but no one said a word and no one knew a thing. I bet all the other nuns had a good laugh about that after school.

We lived in the country and my job was to take care of our strawberries, raspberries, and currants. I picked them and sold them for my spending money and vacations. My grandparents would visit from Detroit and they took all I had back to sell to all their neighbors. Living in the country was lots of fun except when I took off with the older guys to a stone quarry to go swimming BAD NEWS! My dad and mom had a few words with me about that. We did not have running water so my brother and I took our baths, in a galvanized tub on the back porch. In the summer after we got water to the house, we took showers on the outdoor back porch, with my dad using the hose to rinse us off.

Explore posts in the same categories: Life Story, students' writing, Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Bob McClure – School Days”

  1. Marie Tutino Says:

    This is just how I remember my Dad telling me these stories. He was always getting into trouble when he was little. 🙂


Leave a Reply

